Wickedywitch 7th March to 12 March 2013

This is the first time I have had a moment to sit and write up my pottering.  As we are heading to Spring Equinox, I thought I had better bet my wickedywitch arse in gear and get planting the seeds for the garden. I had been collecting seeds ready, starting with my herbs, basil, thyme, parsley, marjoram, coriander. All used in a variety of ways from cooking, to spell crafting and making lovely incenses. Then there are the vegetables and salads, tomatoes four varieties, French beans, lettuces four varieties, radish, spring onions and four varieties of peppers. Just to start off with. I like to get them started in the house, as my greenhouse is now my partner’s art studio, though he does have all our dried herbs hanging to dry around him and the bottles and jars are hanging from the ceiling in the old ways of a nail through the lid and screw the jar to it.  He does look like Mr. Hubble bubble in there.

We have an extensive herb garden already; I like to keep adding to it as I discover one we haven’t got. And of course there are such as basil needs to be planted regularly, we do use a lot of that herb. I had been collecting over the last two months, empty plastic bottles, and the plastic containers that are used for biscuits and small cakes.  I then cut the bottles in half, fill with soil the bottom section, plant the seeds, lightly cover then I put the top on, you then have a mini greenhouse effect, they then get scattered all around the house on window sills. The other containers are easy as they already have attached lids so I use those for lettuce or beans. I then water with a spray gun. I gathered everything into the kitchen and proceeded to plant away, the time just flew by. Now its the excitement of waiting to see the seedling burst into life.

We have a stall at a witchy conference on Saturday so I have been busy making stock up for it, one of the things I bought of good old ebay was a latex mould of a moon gazing hare, it only stands 7inches tall and is absolutely gorgeous. We managed to get a tub of quick drying cement to use on the mould with the idea of ironing out all the glitch problems.  We delicately poured the mixture into the mould; we had built a caged frame to hold it whilst it was drying. Leaving it to dry we headed off to carry on making stock for the stall.  I have finished 20 pairs of little baby booties with sigils on, and have started on witchy fridge magnets. My partner makes beautiful wooden items, such as wands, staffs, dream catchers etc. He had been working on herb holders for the kitchen, the idea is you have a decorated wooden piece with five holders; you tie your fresh herbs to each one and hang it in the kitchen.  Then you have fresh herbs drying in the kitchen for your cooking.  The hare came out of the mould beautifully and is so lovely… I wanted to keep it!

On the Saturday night a friend of ours came for a visit, with the promise of a stir fry and a homemade chocolate cake better than sex he says, thats his feminine side coming out of him!, partner telling everyone how hard done he is as he doesn’t get cake… seriously!!! The man is spoilt rotten!!!

We make our own wine, so a few were ready to bottle up, the autumn and winter months giving you the red wines then spring till autumn your white wines.  The Sloe wine and the Blackberry wine was ready to bottle, mmm can’t beat homemade wine, no chemicals, well not in ours anyhow. It is very potent though and we have been known to travel to insomniac friends with a couple of bottles to help them sleep, purely medicinal of course!!!

BB Wickedywitch

About wickedywitch

Im a wickedywitch, this blog is about my daily pottering, my writing, poetry, and general witchy things I get upto, from foraging to make wine, or herbal remedys, to drumming, or creating an item from scratch with materials or cooking.
This entry was posted in Relationships, wickedywitch and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

